ACM International Conference on Multimedia Retrieval (ICMR)

ICMR Steering Committee Homepage

ICMR2019 will be in Canada
Chairs: Abdulmotaleb El Saddik, Alberto Del Bimbo and Zhongfei (Mark) Zhang



ACM ICMR is the premier scientific conference for multimedia retrieval worldwide. Its mission is to illuminate the state of the art in multimedia retrieval by bringing together researchers and practitioners in the field of multimedia retrieval. It is essential to ensure that the conference includes sessions for presenting high-quality research papers and for sharing practitioner experience. Sessions discussing the current state of the art, directions for the future, large-scale media evaluations, and demonstrations of current technology are encouraged.  ICMR is intended to be international and in general will not be held on the same continent for two consecutive years in a row.

The main objectives of ICMR are the following:

  1. To provide a setting for the presentation and discussion of high-quality original research papers in all aspects of multimedia retrieval.
  2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas between researchers and practitioners in the field, ideally by maintaining a separate "industry" track.
  3. To provide a range of complementary events such as panel sessions, exhibitions, workshops, and large-scale media evaluations.
  4. To provide suitable facilities for informal networking and exchange of ideas between delegates.

Current and Future ICMR:

ICMR 2019, June 10-13, Ottawa, Canada. General Chairs: Abdulmotaleb El Saddik, Alberto Del Bimbo and Zhongfei (Mark) Zhang

ICMR 2020, June, Dublin, Ireland. General Chairs: Cathal Gurrin and Björn Þór Jónsson

ICMR 2021, June 7-10, Taipei, Taiwan. General Chairs: Wen-Huang Cheng, Mohan Kankanhalli, and Meng Wang

Past ICMR:

ICMR 2011, April 17-20, Trento, Italy. General Chairs: Alberto del Bimbo and Francesco G.B. De Natale

ICMR 2012, June 5-8, Hong Kong, China. General Chairs: Horace Ip and Yong Rui

ICMR 2013, April, Dallas, USA. General Chairs: Jain and B. Prabhakaran

ICMR 2014, April, Glasgow, UK. General Chairs: Joemon Jose and Keith van Rijsbergen

ICMR 2015, April, Shanghai, China. General Chairs: Chong-Wah Ngo, Alex Hauptmann and Xiangyang Xue

ICMR 2016, June, NYC, USA. General Chairs: John Kender and John R. Smith

ICMR 2017, June 6-9, Bucharest, Romania. General Chairs: Bogdan Ionescu and Nicu Sebe

ICMR 2018, June 11-14, Yokohama, Japan. General Chairs: Kiyoharu Aizawa, Michael S. Lew and Shin'ichi Satoh

Steering Committee Bylaws (Rules & Principles)

Current Steering Committee


Kiyoharu Aizawa, University of Tokyo, Japan (2019-2023)

Regular Members

Alex Hauptmann, Carnegie Mellon University, USA (2015-2019)

Chong Wah NGO, City University of Hong Kong, HK (2015-2019)

John Smith, IBM Research, USA (2016-2020)

John R. Kender, Columbia University, USA (2016-2020)

Nicu Sebe, University of Trento, Italy (2017-2021)

Bogdan Ionescu, Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania (2017-2021)

Shin’ichi Satoh, NII, Japan (2018-2022)

SIGMM Special Member

Gerald Friedland, UC Berkeley, USA

Advisory Committee

(terms served as steering committee regular members or chair listed next to names)

Tat-Seng Chua, National University of Singapore, Singapore (chair, 2015-2019)

Joemon Jose, University of Glasgow, UK (member, 2014-2018)

Keith van Rijsbergen, University of Cambridge, UK (member, 2014-2018)

Michael S. Lew, Leiden University, The Netherlands (chair, 2009-2015)

Nozha Boujemaa, INRIA, France (member, 2009-2014)

Ling Guan, Ryerson University, Canada (member, 2009-2014)

Thomas S. Huang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA (member, 2009-2014)

Yiannis Kompatsiaris, CERTH/ITI, Greece (member, 2010-2014)

Jiebo Luo, Kodak Research, USA (member, 2009-2014)

Stephane Marchand-Maillet, University of Geneva, Switzerland (member, 2010-2014)

Nicu Sebe, University of Trento, Italy (member, 2009-2014)

Alan Smeaton, Dublin City University, Ireland (member, 2009-2014)

Qi Tian, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA (member, 2009-2014)

James Wang, Pennsylvania State University, USA (member, 2009-2014)

Marcel Worring, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands (member, 2009-2014)

Hong-Jiang Zhang, Microsoft Research Asia, China (member, 2009-2014)